Shredded Carrot and Fennel Salad

Another way to showcase the produce of my veggie patch:

After harvesting a giant fennel bulb I remembered an easy salad I was introduced to in  a heart-healthy cooking class. Thin slices of fennel, carrot and cucumber. Well I my cucumber is not cooperating yet, but my carrots certainly are! Here’s what I ended up with for a refreshing salad to accompany my grilled salmon:

Shredded Carrot and Fennel Salad

    • 1 fennel bulb, thinly sliced
    • 6 carrots, thinly sliced or grated
    • juice from 1/2 a lemon
    • 2 Tb olive oil
    • salt & pepper to taste

Cut the veggies as thin as you can get them, and toss them with the olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper. If you’ve never worked with fennel before cut off the fronds (stems) and set aside; slice up the bulb. You can use a few of the feathery fronds chopped up to garnish your salad. Cucumbers or radishes would be a great addition to this salad as well. Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Salad, Side Dishes, Vegetable

One response to “Shredded Carrot and Fennel Salad

  1. Pingback: Farro, Kale and Fennel Salad | So many recipes, so little time

Leave a comment